Centre for Postgraduate Studies and Research

Overview of School

Faculty Introduction

Centre for Postgraduate Studies and Research (CPSR) is a new centre formed in November 2018 after merging the Centre for Postgraduate Studies (CPS) with Research Management Centre (RMC). Centre for Postgraduate Studies (CPS) which was established in 2009, has been renamed Postgraduate Studies Unit to continue serving the postgraduate community of the University; while Research Management Centre (RMC) which was established in 2009 has become Research Management Unit to continue supporting the University’s research. CPSR strives to create an environment, which stimulates and encourages both intellectual and social exchange among postgraduate students, the research staff and faculty members.  

Postgraduate Studies Unit

The unit is responsible for the implementation, management and administration of graduate studies. We do this by providing quality academic services and assistance to students throughout their university experience from admission to graduation.

Apart from this, the unit also commits to provide a conducive environment by maintaining communication with relevant divisions and faculties to ensure the postgraduate programmes are well administered, monitored and assessed to achieve the highest quality in graduate education. This unit serves as a central body for coordinating and promoting all postgraduate programmes. Currently there are more than ten programmes offered; five at the Masters level and five at the PhD level. Our Postgraduate programmes have been recognised internationally and the university has admitted postgraduate students from various countries, including those sponsored by governments and organisations.

The unit encourages innovative learning via research, colloquiums, seminars, workshops and trainings by merging the academic and industry expertise. This is to ensure IUKL graduates can generate excellent academic and research outcomes and contribute in ensuring the sustainability of the environment, society and nation.

Research Management Unit (RMU)

CPSR also serves as a central coordinating body for research and development activities undertaken in the University. RMU is responsible for of inculcating a research culture among the academic staff and facilitating the research and development activities by providing assistance to researchers including processing research fund applications and managing research grant utilisation. The unit also act as a resource for the researchers to obtain information related to research, regulatory and legal requirements and publications.

The role of the unit is to provide a “one stop” solution in managing and coordinating all matters related to research activities as well as ensuring the approved university policies and procedures are adhered to by researchers.


To become an academic centre of excellence in postgraduate studies and multidisciplinary research.


To nurture, promote and enhance academic advancement in graduate education and strengthen the University’s research culture and environment, in the pursuit of academic and research excellence.

Field of Study

Academic Directory

NameDesignationRoom NoExt No.
+603-8926 6993
Email Address
Dr. Norzita YunusDean, CPSRBlock 9, CPSR office352[email protected]
Annie Yap Ai KinHead, Research Management UnitBlock 9, CPSR office607[email protected]
Prof. Dr. Siti Maziha MustaphaHead of Postgraduate Programme - EducationA220356[email protected]
Dr. Zulkefli Muhamad HanapiyahHead of Postgraduate Programme - Business AdministrationA305879[email protected]
Prof. Dr. Faridah IbrahimHead of Postgraduate Programme - CommunicationA003599[email protected]
Dr. Golnoosh ManteghiHead of Postgraduate Programme - Built EnvironmentB213NA[email protected]
Dr. ABM Amrul KaishHead of Postgraduate Programme - Civil EngineeringBlock 9 - L1-Room 2803[email protected]
Dr. Tadiwa Elisha NyamasvisvaHead of Postgraduate Programme - Information TechnologyBlock 9 - L1-Room 4683[email protected]
Idris SafarAcademic ExecutiveBlock 9, CPSR office743[email protected]
Nur Amalina SamusiResearch ExecutiveBlock 9, CPSR office739[email protected]